tjee0512 2012/3/29
teresaong 2012/3/24

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 3 »

Emigrating to Kuching
Quite a regular
From Taipei, Taiwan
Hi everyone,

I'm a German native who's been living in Taiwan for the past 19 years. My wife is Taiwanese and our two sons are six and eight years old, respectively. I'm a translator and interpreter (Mandarin/German/English) by training and co-run an international localization agency for video games.

Unfortunately, a few years ago I started growing tropical pitcher plants (Nepenthes), a hobby that quickly mutated into a full-blown obsession. In combination with my life-long interest in tropical forests and the critters, bugs and plants that inhabit them, this led to the development of an almost pathetic mania about Sarawak. Over the past two years, I've read every English publication on the subject that I could get a hold of.

Last month, I finally had the chance to visit Kuching for two weeks as a participant of an international conference on pitcher plants (the Nepenthes Summit held at the old Courthouse in August). To my utter delight, I found everything in and around Kuching – the forests, the food, the people, the laid-back atmosphere, the prospect of interesting reptiles visiting our pantry - even better than anticipated, and when I got on the plane back home I’d already decided to move to Kuching as soon as possible.

Incredibly, instead of cracking my skull with a wok, my wife actually liked the idea because she sees it as an excellent opportunity for our kids to attend an international school with a British curriculum (Int’l Lodge) after finishing their elementary grades in a Chinese environment, so as soon as our kids are done with grade school here in two years, we’ll head out to Kuching.