tansl 2012/6/27
tjee0512 2012/3/29
teresaong 2012/3/24

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

My latest new toy .... *sip*
Home away from home
From Australia
Okay, I am a coffee addict I must admit. But my passion for coffee evolved ever since I came to Australia and I must tell you that, when it comes to winter season, what you are craving for the first thing in the morning, is sipping a cup of warm Latte, or in a more Australian version, Flat White, which is my everyday coffee of choice.

Having bought take away coffee for almost half a year and almost sent me broke at a time (I had around 3-4 cups in a day), I decided to make my own coffee. Still new to 'proper' coffee (yes, no instant Nescafe` here mate), I went and bought a coffee brewer in 2005.

Open in new window

Because I was tight on budget, and because I have little knowledge on how to make a proper coffee, I thought that was the best thing. Why you may well ask? Because, it was cheap. AUD$20 for that, so if I decided to halt my interest (like I always do), it would not be much of a loss anyway.

Open in new window

It is non-electrical powered, so, you will need to put it on the gas stove or cook stove to brew the coffee. Here is how it looks like when you unscrew the top half. It reveals the filter basket, where you put your grounded (grind) coffee.

Open in new window

Lift the filter basket out, and that is the bottom part, the vessel, where you fill in with fresh water.

Open in new window

At the side of the vessel, there is a purge nozzle tip. The reason for this is to control the pressure when the water in the vessel is boiled. You wouldn't want the whole thing to explode when the pressure builds up :p

Open in new window