Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
New Members
Isaac97 2012/9/4
KOPIKAU 2012/9/3
tansl 2012/6/27
tjee0512 2012/3/29
teresaong 2012/3/24

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 3 »


Upload your computer profile
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/5/24 3:32
From Punti Hakka Ngin
Posts: 594
Offline
This is a profile of my computer :

http://speccy.piriform.com/results/t26w6da3ST2CF8H3plAfPqB

Upload your profile. I use this software called Speecy. Download the portable one so you don’t need to install the software!

http://www.piriform.com/speccy/builds

Posted on: 2010/7/1 3:30
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Upload your computer profile
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/5/24 3:32
From Punti Hakka Ngin
Posts: 594
Offline
I put in a used i7 950 processor I bought on ebay last week and this is the latest snapshot of my computer ...

http://speccy.piriform.com/results/5vwqiBsc8qcQfF5atAfdq1M

Posted on: 2010/7/20 22:01
_________________
My Work Resume
My Daily Workout
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Upload your computer profile
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/5/24 3:32
From Punti Hakka Ngin
Posts: 594
Offline
Update.

I have overclock my i7 950 to 3375.5 mhz ON AIR. I didnt have to increase any voltage. Dont get the i7 980 when you can do this!

I also get a new video card HD 5750. This thing is fanless and got big heat sink and doesnt need 6 pin power!

http://speccy.piriform.com/results/u4rVHdy8VL26AiMljbPuQX5

Posted on: 2010/7/30 1:28
_________________
My Work Resume
My Daily Workout
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Upload your computer profile
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/3/19 23:17
Posts: 164
Offline
Have you enable ACHI? All your hardisks detected as running in IDE mode?

Posted on: 2010/7/30 5:08
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Upload your computer profile
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/5/24 3:32
From Punti Hakka Ngin
Posts: 594
Offline
AHCI mode brings 3 main advantages:

1.Supports NCQ (Native Command Queuing) allowing SATA drives to accept more than one command at a time and dynamically reorder the commands for maximum efficiency.
2.Supports hot plugging of devices
3.Supports staggered spin ups of multiple hard drives at boot time

However, in the real world the performance difference isn't huge.

============

I didnt even notice that. I know all my hd is SATA connection. Dont know how IDE get in there.

Is this a controller card that you put in the PCI-E slot?

Posted on: 2010/7/31 1:39
_________________
My Work Resume
My Daily Workout
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Upload your computer profile
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/3/19 23:17
Posts: 164
Offline
No. The controller comes with the southbridge. It is a feature built onto your southbridge.

There is an option from your BIOS to enable ACHI. Once enabled ACHI, your hardisk won't run in IDE mode.

Normally, you cannot just flip the switch on your BIOS. Once flip over to ACHI, you have to reinstall Windows or otherwise your Windows just won't boot. There is some guidance on the internet about not having to reinstall windows after flipping to ACHI. You can check it out. (I don't think those methods really truly use ACHI.. just merely getting around with the booting up problem). I prefer reinstall fresh. That way I know Windows initiate ACHI driver only and not some garb mix hybrid driver.

My personal experience .... ACHI reduces hardisk seeking time, particularly when all your data are scattered and random. (Eg: your bootup hardisk). Your hardisk operate quieter, hopefully cooler. Felt a tad bit faster as well.

ACHI will offer you no advantage if you have SSD, or your hardisk are full of large files, in which case... it is all sequential read rather than random read.

Posted on: 2010/7/31 4:37
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Upload your computer profile
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/18 2:36
From Kuching
Posts: 2294
Offline
i don't get you guys.

why do you overclock?

Posted on: 2010/7/31 7:20
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Upload your computer profile
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/5/24 3:32
From Punti Hakka Ngin
Posts: 594
Offline
I will check into this.

People usually overclock cause of playing games in high resolution.

For me I dont game. I have a Xbox 360 sitting and seldom played.

Use to play alot of video games when young. I believe old is getting old.

Posted on: 2010/8/2 11:31
_________________
My Work Resume
My Daily Workout
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Upload your computer profile
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/3/19 23:17
Posts: 164
Offline
I was really into overclocking at one point, often buying myself very exotic cooling system, a Kryotech system. Bought myself the cheapest CPU model and overclock it to be faster than the most expensive model and in the process burning my pocket a hole buying the most exotic cooling system.

Finally I grew up of it and will settle for even an Intel Atom.

Posted on: 2010/8/4 0:44
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Upload your computer profile
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/5/24 3:32
From Punti Hakka Ngin
Posts: 594
Offline
Overclock is dangerous! I have seen burned CPU because of this. Thats why its at your own risk.

I only overclock my chip a little.

Some peple are so extreme they use water cooling! Yes, I have seen minature radiator you can put on your CPU.

Posted on: 2010/8/4 1:04
_________________
My Work Resume
My Daily Workout
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 3 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You can vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]