Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
New Members
Isaac97 2012/9/4
KOPIKAU 2012/9/3
tansl 2012/6/27
tjee0512 2012/3/29
teresaong 2012/3/24

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users





Anyone wants to get a new Dell 30" monitor - U3011 ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/5/24 3:32
From Punti Hakka Ngin
Posts: 594
Offline
Anyone wants to get the new Dell 30" monitor coming out next month? Its the U3011.

Open in new window



Posted on: 2010/9/9 7:23
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Anyone wants to get a new Dell 30" monitor - U3011 ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/3/19 23:17
Posts: 164
Offline
Get Radeon HD5970 Eyefinity and hook up 6 panels of U3011... Wow.. that would be quite an experience

Seriously, a bit disappointed it is not LED. I am loving my Samsung LED HDTV used as HDTV and computer monitor.. Not sure if I will settle for a smaller screen, lesser contrast ratio, and lower refresh rates. The resolution on U3011 is a bit tempting though.

I think it depends on what you use it for. Gaming is probably not very suitable on this screen. Photoshop will be. Will also make a good monitor when hook up using Eyefinity for stock counters

Posted on: 2010/9/11 6:02
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Anyone wants to get a new Dell 30" monitor - U3011 ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/5/8 20:42
From Kuching/Shah Alam (for a while)
Posts: 175
Offline
man, your 5970 is really a monstrous card... >___<

Posted on: 2010/9/11 22:07
_________________
Nobody is worth your tears, and the one who is won't make you cry.
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Anyone wants to get a new Dell 30" monitor - U3011 ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/5/24 3:32
From Punti Hakka Ngin
Posts: 594
Offline
You using HDTV as a monitor? Dont look too close. It is not good for the eye. But better than a glass tube monitor for sure.

I think eyefinity is only 3 monitors per video card and one of the requirment is that it must be a Displayport output.

Posted on: 2010/9/13 7:00
_________________
My Work Resume
My Daily Workout
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Anyone wants to get a new Dell 30" monitor - U3011 ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/3/19 23:17
Posts: 164
Offline
Yes, I am using HDTV as monitor as well as HDTV. Sitting about 1m away, I often still have to zoom in because the text are too small for me to read (getting old now). Dunno about 2560 x 1600. Probably have to zoom in even further.

Check out this Eyefinity. It can support up to 6 displayport. But also look at the pricetag

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/4GB-XFX-HD-5970-Black-LE-PCI-E-21-(x16)-4800MHz-GDDR5-GPU-850MHz-3200Cores-6-x-DisplayPort

Posted on: 2010/9/15 6:32
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Anyone wants to get a new Dell 30" monitor - U3011 ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/5/24 3:32
From Punti Hakka Ngin
Posts: 594
Offline
Stormpike, get a LCD monitor for a computer lah. Text is fine for this. W7 comes with magnifing glass. Browser also got the zoom in and out thing.

HDTV is for watching high def video. It is doable as a computer monitor, but not recommended.

The link is dead. You saying this video card got 6 video output?

Posted on: 2010/9/15 11:16
_________________
My Work Resume
My Daily Workout
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Anyone wants to get a new Dell 30" monitor - U3011 ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/3/19 23:17
Posts: 164
Offline
I like big screen and high res. HDTV is my monitor as well as my HDTV because the PC is my media centre, though a very high spec media centre which I also use it for gaming (SC2)

I use HDTV for browsing as well, but not for serious productivity work. So I am okay with HDTV.

Link is not working but if you cut and paste the whole URL, it will work. RM 5000 for this card though.

Posted on: 2010/9/15 19:50
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Anyone wants to get a new Dell 30" monitor - U3011 ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/5/24 3:32
From Punti Hakka Ngin
Posts: 594
Offline
I did see it!

My gawd! 6 displayport output ??? Why dont they do 6 HDMI port output ?

You know why? Because a displayport monitor cost more than a HDMI input monitor.

I am not getting it as I dont game.

You might be better off getting two video cards and put on your PC. Way way cheaper! W7 is good at this and no problem.

Posted on: 2010/9/16 1:38
_________________
My Work Resume
My Daily Workout
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer






You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You can vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]